Jalalludin Rumi

Some words from Sufi poet Rumi to express my feelings today. I love the Sufi ideal of every breath as a prayer or a deliberate act of oneness with all that is… there are days I do better with that concept than others. Today is a pretty good day, lol.

(Note that these aren’t the complete poems, the whole poems are available in different places online and in collections. They’re truly beautiful. When he writes of a Beloved, as in the way of Sufi poets,he’s most likely speaking of the mystical union with God.)

Come, come, whoever you are.
Wanderer, worshipper, lover of leaving — it doesn’t matter,
Ours is not a caravan of despair.
Come, even if you have broken your vow a hundred times,
Come, come again, come.”

Be forgiven. Try again. Fail again, if you must, but then try again. Also:

Every object and being in the universe is
a jar overflowing with wisdom and beauty,
a drop of the Tigris that cannot be contained
by any skin.

Be yourself: be wise, be beautiful, be uncontainable. Overflow. Spill joyously. And finally:

Love said to me,
there is nothing that is not me.
Be silent.”

Ah, yes. Be silent. Silently be.

2 thoughts on “Jalalludin Rumi

  1. Love Rumi. When I was in Istanbul in September I bought a book about Rumi and the Whirling Dervishes called Love is All. I liked this from Rumi:

    At one time when life was real, your soul was one with my soul:
    All we were, open or secret, was part of the same whole.
    If “you” and “I” are pronouns I use, they are only terms –
    In truth, there can be no separate you or I at all.

Leave a Reply

